The will to rise

e76e15ea5c3f6036c7b16548d7c6d91b

There are times, I know, when we all fall down. It may be due to something drastic happening, or it could just be because it’s a Tuesday and you woke up with a cat butt on your face. Whatever happens, however, it sets the tone for the day and you find yourself fighting to get back to the “good” or maybe just the “okay” for the rest of the day. It’s hard to fight a battle from the moment you wake up and sometimes the urge is to just not fight it at all.

For that one day, you’ll let yourself fall.

By falling, you tell yourself, less effort will be needed and what does it matter because you can just rise up again. It’s just one day, right? Why fight that fight when you can just let it go? It’s just one day.

Until it morphs in to three or four days.

I’m fighting to find the will to rise after falling for a couple days. I want my attitude to rise, my physical wellness to rise, my general well-being to rise. I have learned, though, that I also need to make sure I’m patient with myself and that there’s no reason to beat myself up over a slight fall.

It may take a few days, but I will again rise.

What do you do when you feel yourself falling?

Leave a Reply

